Hommage à Gabriel Fauré

12 July 2024 — ore 20.30

This concert juxtaposes two of Fauré’s major works for piano and strings, written forty years apart. One can thus compare the irrepressible youthful drive of the First Quartet, Op. 15, finished in 1879, with the severe polyphonic writing of the Second Quintet, Op. 115, begun in 1919. Both are preceded by two pieces for violin and piano—Reynaldo Hahn’s delicate Nocturne and Eugène Ysaÿe’s broader Poème élégiaque, dedicated to Fauré, whose rambling harmonic style is hinted at.

Modigliani Quartet:
Pierre Fouchenneret, violin (substituting for Amaury Coeytaux)
Loïc Rio, violin
Laurent Marfaing, viola
François Kieffer, cello

Louis Lortie, piano

Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947)
Nocturne in E flat major for violin and piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
First Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 15:
Allegro molto moderato
Scherzo, Allegro vivo
Allegro molto


Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931)
Poème élégiaque for violin and piano, Op. 12

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Second Piano Quintet in C minor, Op. 115:
Allegro moderato
Allegro vivo
Andante moderato
Allegro molto

Full Price: € 45.00 + payment fees

In collaboration with Associazione Musicale e Culturale Ars Aeterna